Today’s Best NBA Reporting And Analysis 2/19/16

(NOTE:  Again today our links are limited by the effects of the all-star break and trade deadline.  The good news is that this is probably the last disclaimer we will need.  Our expectation is that we will be back to our “old normal” this weekend.)
–   Pick-And-Roll Perfected:  Draymond Green And Steph Curry  (from Jeff Siegel, fansided):
–  Lockdown Defense Keeping Celtics Among East Elite  (from Chris Forsberg,  ESPN):
SVG Explains Pistons’ Trade Process And How Little He Is Involved  (from Aaron McMann, mlive.com):
–  Bulls’ GM Gar Forman  Q & A  (from K.C. Johnson,  Chicago Tribune):
–  George Karl Should Not Go Out Like This  (from Ailene Voisin,  Sacramento Bee):
–  Every Trade Completed During The 2-15-16 Season  (from SBNation):

–  Trade Deadline Recap  (from Chuck Myron,  Hoops Rumors):
The Key Deadline Deals  (from Bobby Marks,  Yahoo Sports):
–  10 Questions Following The Trade Deadline  (from Jonathan Tjarks,  RealGM):
–  Recapping Thursday’s Games  (from SBNation):
–  A Guide To The Buyout Season  (from Mika Honkasalo, Hoops Hype):
–  NBPA Mounting Crackdown On Agents’ Conflicts Of Interest  (from Ken Berger,  CBS Sports):
Additional Player Notes, Updates, Profiles:
Brandon Jennings/Ersan Ilyasova  (from Philip Rossman-Reich, Orlando Magic Daily):  http://orlandomagicdaily.com/2016/02/19/brandon-jennings-ersan-ilyasova-know-the-work-ahead/
–  Dante Exum/Shelvin Mack  (from Dan Clayton,  Salt City Hoops):  http://saltcityhoops.com/sc7-basketballs-back-deadline-and-why-exums-still-central/
–  Channing Frye  (from Luke Sicari,  King James Gospel):  http://kingjamesgospel.com/2016/02/19/channing-frye-strengthens-cavs-weaknesses/

–  Jon Horford  (from Chris Reichert,  Upside & Motor):  Jon Horford putting in the work to create his own path

Today’s Best NBA Reporting and Analysis

–  How Billy Donovan built a basketball powerhouse at Florida  (from Anthony Slater,  newsok.com):

Read it here:  http://newsok.com/article/5441839

 

For Second Spectrum, Basketball is Just a Numbers game (from Gary washburn. Boston Globe):

” The analytics firm has many NBA teams on its client list, offering more concrete data to maximize teams’ rosters.

Read it here: http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2015/08/22/analytics-emerging-coaching-tool/s48TbOisEr35kjyLeAlzFP/story.html

 

Player Notes, Updates, Profiles:

 

–  With Exum out, Trey Burke says, ‘I have to be ready to step up’  (from Aaron Falk,  sltrib.com):  http://www.sltrib.com/sports/2863445-155/utah-jazz-with-exum-out-trey

 

–  DeMarre on the defensive for Raptors  (from Ryan Wolstat,  torontosun.com):  http://www.torontosun.com/2015/08/22/demarre-on-the-defensive-for-raptors

 

–  Jared Sullinger is primed for a breakout season  (from Kevin O’Connor,  celticsblog.com):  http://www.celticsblog.com/2015/8/23/9166611/jared-sullinger-is-primed-for-a-breakout-season-boston-celtics-nba-fantasy-basketball

 

–  Rockets Face Tough Choice With Montrezl Harrell  (from Chuck Myron,  hoopsrumors.com):  http://www.hoopsrumors.com/2015/08/rockets-face-tough-choice-montrezl-harrell.html

 

–  Justise Winslow knows the Heat won’t be down long  (from Michael Lee,  Washington Post):   http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/sports/wp/2015/08/21/heats-justise-winslow-joins-a-franchise-known-for-quick-turnarounds/

Today’s Best NBA Reporting and Analysis

–  Film Room: Lance Stephenson Edition  (from Justin Russo,  clipsnation.com):

” Last season was such a shock to the system of Lance Stephenson that it went down as one of the worst shooting seasons in the history of the NBA. He’s one of just six players ever to log at least 1500 minutes in a season, attempt 100 threes, and still finish with an Effective Field Goal Percentage of under 40 percent. Out of those six, he’s the only guy to ever have a True Shooting Percentage under 42 percent, as well. However, despite all of that, Stephenson can still be a positive contributor to a team if he can get back to doing the things that he excels at. In this edition of the Film Room, we’re going to examine some of those very things.

Read and view it here:  http://www.clipsnation.com/2015/8/7/9076401/film-room-lance-stephenson-edition

 

 

–  D-Fenders head coach Casey Owens ready to bring a new culture to the Lakers development team  (from Drew Garrison,  silverscreenandroll.com):

” The D-Fenders new head coach opened up about his role as a leader of men, talent development for the Lakers, and shared plenty of insight — including how and why he embraces analytics.”

Read it here:  http://www.silverscreenandroll.com/2015/8/7/9116041/la-lakers-head-coach-casey-owens-dfenders

 

 

–  Team USA mini-camp primer   (from Steve Perrin,  clipsnation.com):

Read it here:  http://www.clipsnation.com/2015/8/7/9119059/team-usa-mini-camp-primer-clippers-chris-paul-blake-griffin-deandre-jordan

 

 

–  Jazz need better PG, for frontcourt’s sake  (from Andy Larsen,  ksl.com):

Read it here:  http://www.ksl.com/?sid=35834637

 

 

–  The Evolution of the Spurs Offense: 1999-2014  (from Coach Nick,  BBall Breakdown):

Watch it here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgwZYsXCcVY

 

 

 

Additional Player Notes, Updates, Profiles:

 

Greg Monroe:  http://behindthebuckpass.com/2015/08/07/greg-monroe-projected-passing-improvements-bucks/

 

Nic Batum/Michael Kidd-Gilchrist:  http://www.atthehive.com/2015/8/8/9120075/Nicolas-Batum-Michael-Kidd-Gilchrist-Charlotte-Hornets

 

Archie Goodwin:  http://www.brightsideofthesun.com/2015/8/8/9108345/archie-goodwin-gets-his-chance

 

Pat Connaughton:  http://www.nba.com/2015/news/features/ian_thomsen/08/07/blazers-pat-connaughton-from-notre-dame-dreams-to-play-two-sports/

 

Kendall Marshall:  http://behindthebuckpass.com/2015/08/07/should-the-bucks-want-kendall-marshall-back/

 

Robert Upshaw:  http://lakeshowlife.com/2015/08/07/3-things-robert-upshaw-can-learn-roy-hibbert/

 

Marco Bellinelli:  http://www.sactownroyalty.com/2015/8/7/9116609/marco-belinelli-sacramento-kings-expectations-questions

 

Alec Burks:  http://hardwoodparoxysm.com/2015/08/07/why-alec-burks-could-fill-the-potential-hole-at-pg-for-the-jazz/

Today’s Top NBA Stories

–  Exum Strategy: How One Injury Put a Crimp in Utah’s Plans and Raised More Questions About Offseason Games (from Zach Lowe, Grantland):

Read it here:  http://grantland.com/the-triangle/exum-strategy-how-one-injury-put-a-crimp-in-utahs-plans-and-raised-more-questions-about-offseason-games/

 

 

–  Why the NBA’s ‘Small Ball’ Revolution Isn’t What You Think It Is  (from Dan Favale,  Bleacher report):

Read it here:  http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2541667-why-the-nbas-small-ball-revolution-isnt-what-you-think-it-is

 

 

For those with access to ESPN Insider:

 

–  Jazz can still make the playoffs without the injured Dante Exum  (from Kevin Pelton,  ESPN):

Read it here:  http://espn.go.com/nba/insider/story/_/id/13389857/nba-utah-jazz-make-playoffs-dante-exum

 

 

Additional Player Notes, Updates, Profiles:

 

Perry Jones:  http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/2015/08/07/perry-jones-has-plenty-prove-fresh-start-with-celtics/ZCKAM4BNq4Y0WJrsJq9QQL/story.html

 

Tyler Johnson:  http://www.hothothoops.com/2015/8/7/9086739/what-can-tyler-johnson-provide-Miami-Heat-Dwyane-Wade-Bosh-Goran-Dragic

 

Sonny Weems:  http://www.si.com/nba/2015/08/07/sonny-weems-phoenix-suns-russia-cska-moscow-jeff-hornacek

 

Aron Baynes:  http://www.nba.com/pistons/features/physical-deft-touch-aron-baynes-has-more-offer-he-showed-spurs-svg-believes

 

Josh Smith:  http://www.clipsnation.com/2015/8/6/9000787/film-room-josh-smith-edition

 

Kristaps Porzingis:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=rZKXj2kLNjE

 

Today’s Top NBA Stories

–  ‘You’re never confident. You plan as well as you can’: A Q&A with Spurs’ GM R.C. Buford   (from Dan McCarney,   mysananotnio.com):

Read it here: http://blog.mysanantonio.com/spursnation/2015/07/10/youre-never-confident-you-plan-as-well-as-you-can-a-qa-with-r-c-buford/

 

 

–  Hidden Gems of the Utah Summer League  (from Ben Dowsett,  Basketball Insiders):

” Summer league play in the NBA has multiple points of emphasis. On the one hand are the elite prospects, typically soon-to-be rookies or second-year guys who were drafted highly and are generally expected to be among the better players in the tournament, particularly those in their second summer. Skill development and confidence as team leaders are the important takeaways for these guys, though they sometimes play so well early on that it’s no longer worth it to risk injury by playing them.

On the other end of the spectrum, though, summer play is a time for GMs and executives to identify and analyze talent they may not have seen much of up close. Many guys on summer rosters won’t ever amount to anything, but each year there are a handful who make a big impression and place themselves on the NBA radar.

With Utah Jazz Summer League completed Thursday night, who were a few of the hidden gems making a case for themselves?”

Read it here:  http://www.basketballinsiders.com/hidden-gems-of-the-utah-jazz-summer-league/

 

 

Becky Hammon in the moment (from Steve Bulpett,  Boston Herald):

Read it here:  http://www.bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2015/07/becky_hammon_in_the_moment

 

 

– A quiet summer, but loud expectations from Heat going forward  (from Ira Winderman,  Sun Sentinel):

Read it here:  http://www.centredaily.com/2015/07/11/4831214_a-quiet-summer-but-loud-expectations.html

 

 

Celtics Update  (from wsjy,  celticsblog.com):

Read it here:  http://www.celticsblog.com/2015/7/11/8910895/boston-celtics-danny-ainge-brad-stevens-what-are-they-thinking

 

 

Additional Player Notes, Updates, Profiles:

 

Jared Dudley:  http://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/wizards/the-wizards-paul-pierce-replacement-plan-lands-a-key-part-in-jared-dudley/2015/07/10/56a453ae-274a-11e5-b77f-eb13a215f593_story.html

 

Jerian Grant:  http://nypost.com/2015/07/10/triangle-savvy-jerian-grant-has-knicks-gushing-over-his-passing/

 

Aaron Gordon:  http://www.vavel.com/en-us/nba/512436-the-evolution-of-aaron-gordon.html

 

Dante Exum:  http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2516280-dante-exum-reminds-everyone-of-his-potential-at-utah-jazz-summer-league

 

Jason Thompson:  http://www.libertyballers.com/2015/7/11/8932551/jason-thompson-is-ready-for-a-new-start

 

Marcus Morris:  http://www.detroitbadboys.com/2015/7/11/8888491/marcus-morris-vs-everybody   and   http://www.freep.com/story/sports/nba/pistons/2015/07/10/detroit-pistons-marcus-morris/29970089/

 

Jay Hook:  http://www.thebirdwrites.com/2015/7/11/8924119/2015-summer-league-pelicans-jay-hook-chance-tulane

 

Karl-Anthony Towns:  http://www.sbnation.com/nba/2015/7/11/8932207/karl-anthony-towns-nba-summer-league-debut-timberwolves

 

Julius Randle:  http://www.insidesocal.com/lakers/2015/07/10/metta-world-peace-impressed-with-julius-randles-strength/

 

Damien Inglis:  http://www.jsonline.com/sports/bucks/damien-inglis-satisfied-despite-brief-bucks-debut-b99535489z1-313511671.html